Identifying The Penalties For Marijuana Charges With A Criminal Attorney In Ann Arbor

Michigan isn’t a state where marijuana has been legalized for recreational use. It is allowed for medical purposes only. Patients who receive these medications must provide law enforcement with valid evidence of their prescription. Anyone caught with the substance without proper documentation will face charges. A Criminal Attorney Ann Arbor helps these individuals by building an adequate defense based on their circumstances.

What are the Penalties for Possession of Marijuana?

Possession of any quantity of marijuana is a misdemeanor. The individual will face one year in county lockup. They will receive a maximum fine of $2,000. However, if they are caught with the substance in a park, the charge could equate to a felony and increase their sentence to two years. Additionally, any individual caught using the drug receives at least ninety days in jail and a fine of $100. Anyone facing these charges should contact a criminal defense attorney today.

What are the Penalties for Selling Marijuana?

Penalties that apply to the sale of marijuana vary based on the quantity in the possession of the accused. They begin with sales that don’t result in the exchange of money. These crimes are misdemeanors. The individual faces up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000. The sale of any quantity of marijuana where money is exchanged is a felony. If these charges led to violence against household members, the accused should contact domestic violence lawyers as well.

Quantities that aren’t more than five kilograms impose a prison sentence of four years. The individual receives a fine around $20,000. If the quantity is between five and forty-five kilograms, the accused will receive a seven-year prison sentence with a fine of $500,000. All quantities that are beyond forty-five kilograms incur a prison sentence of fifteen years and fines that will not exceed $10,000,000. Anyone facing sales or distribution charges should contact a felony lawyer immediately.

What Penalties Apply to Cultivation of Marijuana?

The cultivation of any quantity is a felony in the state of Michigan. The cultivation of no more than twenty plants incurs a prison sentence of four years and fines of no more than $20,000. Quantities that are between twenty and two hundred plant lead to a seven-year prison sentence and fines of no more than $500,000. If the accused has more than two hundred plants they face fifteen years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000,000.

In Michigan, marijuana is illegal. Under state laws, the court can impose hefty penalties against individuals for possession, sale, or cultivation of the drug. The quantity of the drug in their possession could increase the criminal penalty applied. Anyone facing these charges should contact criminal attorneys without delay.